Historic Opening of the World’s First Quantum Computing Centre

October 28 2011 was a historic and thrilling day for us. The first D-Wave One system residing outside of D-Wave’s headquarters has been installed in its new home at USC’s Information Sciences Institute in Marina Del Rey, California. Last week, senior officials from Lockheed Martin and USC came together to celebrate the official opening of this new facility.

Those that attended on behalf of D-Wave were amazed and thrilled at the effort, vision, commitment and enthusiasm that USC and Lockheed demonstrated by the high level representatives of each organization.

USC and Lockheed have built an impressive facility to house the machine and organized a raft of programs, research and educational approaches to provide training and access to the massive computational power that the system makes available.

Here are some early press articles covering the event.

Here are some pictures taken at the event.

In the belly of the beast; Paul Lee, Steve West, Haig Farris and Rick Nathan

Paul Lee, Eric, Vern and me with Lockheed Martin executives

Me, Eric Ladizinsky, David Fransen (Canadian Consul Gneneral) and Daniel Lidar (USC professor)

D-Wavers in front of the awesome machine.

Vern Brownell, Dean of Engineering Dr. Yannis Yortsos, Lockheed Martin CTO Dr. Ray Johnson, and USC Information Sciences Institute Executive Director Dr. Herb Schorr cutting the ribbon.

USC Viterbi Dean of Engineering Dr. Yannis Yortsos

Directions!

Ribbon cutting room

USC-Lockheed Martin QC Center opening

Even parking is quantum…

Celebratory lunch following ribbon cutting

Still going strong... recruiting programmers and researchers to the fold.

15 thoughts on “Historic Opening of the World’s First Quantum Computing Centre

  1. Pingback: Lockheed Martin Installs Quantum Computer | My Blog

  2. Thanks for every other wonderful article. The place else may
    anybody get that type of information in such a perfect method of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  3. Hello I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I
    was looking on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say
    thank you for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over
    it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read a great deal more,
    Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

  4. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area
    . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i am satisfied to show that I have a very good uncanny
    feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I such a lot unquestionably will make sure to do not omit this web site and provides it
    a look on a relentless basis.

  5. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn.

    This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark
    it and return to read extra of your useful information.

    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  6. However, if you think your eyes are your best feature, you should choose a subtle
    shade of lips to compliment your look without pulling attention away from your best features.
    With 9 different vibrating patterns to play, Epic Vibrator is one
    of the best funniest Android apps on your phone. From my experience, I have found mumbling to be
    more common among men, especially tall men.

  7. This light, fragrance-free serum with a blend of exfoliating ingredients such as glycolic acid and a molecule LHA that renews skin
    texture without causing irritation. Toothpaste (this also applies to
    mouthwash, chewing gum and candy) contains chemical such as flavoring agents that can cause chapped lips to those
    who are allergic or sensitive to them. After lemon, you can apply rose water to your lips so as to make them softer and pink lips.

Leave a Reply

